Civitas Ensemble Winter Concert

Monday, February 26, 2018 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm

Civitas Ensemble, a chamber music group made up of three members of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and pianist Winston Choi, will perform three works by living Chinese-born composers as well as a traditional Chinese folk piece for piano and pipa, a traditional Chinese instrument. The program will include: “Emanations of Tara” by Yao Chen, “Five Elements” by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Zhou Long, “Tibetan Dance” by Bright Sheng, and “Chun Jiang Hua Yue Ye" (A Moonlit Night on the Spring River), a traditional folk tune arranged by composer Wu ZuQiang.

Three guest artists will be joining the ensemble: Chen Yihan (pipa), Cynthia Yeh (percussion) and Emma Gerstein (flute/piccolo).

Tickets are $8 or $5 for students. 

Location and contact
Galvin Recital Hall
70 Arts Circle Drive
Evanston  Illinois  60208
United States
Contact Phone Number: 
Contact Email: